Concord United Methodist Church will
Reach out to our city and welcome all who seek God, Be a place where lives are changed by prayer, Bible study, and worship.
Offer ministries that benefit others Help people to discover the gifts God has given them, and to use those gifts to serve God and others Offer Christian fun and fellowship to everyone.
To Seek God, to serve the community, and to support each other.
STAFF PARISH RELATIONS COMMITTEE
The mission of CUMC’s Staff Parish Relations Committee shall be to conduct and protect personnel and payroll related administrative interests of Concord UMC in a fair, equitable and legal manner, and in accordance with the Book of Discipline’s Staff/Pastor-Parish Relations Committee guidelines, to the best of its ability.
DUTIES and RESPONSIBILITIES
Staff Parish members will hold Concord UMC’s interests, needs, financial well-being, and mission above all individual employees’ interests. Trust, fairness and confidentiality are paramount.It is critical that each and every member of Staff Parish ask questions, and voice their individual opinions and thoughts freely on any issue addressed by Staff Parish. It is the diversity of individual members that will ensure a thorough and complete discussion before matters of importance affecting any and all employees are decided, leading to decisions being made in a fair and equitable manner.
Staff Parish membership and liaison assignments allow for discussion of confidential matters on a “need to know” basis with individual employees, CUMC’s Treasurer, and designated “public knowledge” information shared with Finance and Ad Council Committees as required.
Other than those exceptions noted above, all matters discussed within SPRC are deemed to be confidential, and shall remain so even beyond completion of a member’s appointment.
Concord United Methodist Church is a vibrant and active church that reaches out to the local community, the greater United States, and the world.
Our Music Ministry is outstanding with choirs for all age groups and even an orchestra.
We offer support groups, Stephen Ministry, social clubs, Bible study groups, and much more.
Our Youth Ministry is made up of a passionate and vibrant group of young men and women, who come together every week to worship and have fun together.
Oglesby Hall was completed in 1954.
It is now called the Oglesby-Close Hall.
Sherrill Hall and the Administrative Wing were built in 1977. The Rev. Paul Irwin, a retired naval chaplain, was the first minister appointed to serve the congregation. He served from 1954 to 1959. Since that time the following senior pastors have been assigned to the congregation:
In July 1952, the Reverend William Fletcher Oglesby, at the age of 82, began his quest of establishing a Methodist Church in Concord. His plan was to go where the people lived. He had no car so he walked and talked and visited with people in Concord.
In October 1952, Sunday morning services were conducted in the Armory on Willow Pass Road. November 30, 1952 was declared “Organization Day,” when Rev. Oglesby called forth Jesse and Winzola Green, Alex and Grace Zipsnis and Evelyn London to be the first to sign the charter, since they were the first families to contact him.
The next day, December 1st, the first Board of Stewards met and appointed a building committee, a membership committee, and declared that the charter would be held open until May 31, 1953. Anyone joining on or before that date would be considered a charter member. There were 240 charter members and some of those are still on our rolls, including Winzola Green.
By the fall of 1953, the congregation purchased the present property on West Street. At the time it was a walnut orchard with a small white frame house and a chicken coop. Across West Street were the remains of a small airport from which an airplane flew the first transcontinental air mail route to the East Coast.
Members helped build Oglesby Hall and the educational wings, and on May 23, 1954 the first services were conducted by Bishop Tippett.
Rev. Oglesby lived in Concord until July 1954 when left and established churches in Hayward and Bakersfield. The Sanctuary was built in 1962, and Reverend Oglesby attended the consecration on July 5, 1964. (He was 94 years old.)
Rev. Marie Wilson